Drop #160: Love

burrata and heirloom tomatoJen had a dinner meeting so Hal decided to treat himself to his favorite meal at Tony’s. He was the first customer and the staff greeted him warmly. ‘No missus today? It’s OK. We feed you good.’

Though eating alone, he ordered a full meal, starting with the burrata over heirloom tomatoes, and following with the wild boar ragu pappardelle. It was what they always ordered. He drank two glasses of Chianti as he finished every last morsel with gusto, sopping up all the sauce with bread, and even had space for panna cotta. Most satisfied, he asked for the check just as his phone rang.

‘Hi, honey,’ Jen said. ‘Good news: my meeting was cancelled so I’m all yours tonight.’

‘Great!’

‘Listen, I’m starving and I can’t think of anything better in this life than meeting you at Tony’s for wild boar pappardelle right now.’

‘Oh yeah? Right now?’

‘Yeah. I’m so in the mood. Let’s get a bottle of that delicious Chianti and have a really nice big meal together. I already left. Think you can be there in twenty?’

‘Pretty sure I can.’

‘You didn’t eat yet, did you?’

‘What? No. No.’

‘Great, I’m excited. Can’t wait to see you. You make me so happy.’

‘Well, that makes me happy too.’

By E.M. Vireo

About EM Vireo
flooding the world with fiction

2 Responses to Drop #160: Love

  1. Ryan Ashton says:

    What is it with you and heirloom tomatoes?

    • EM Vireo says:

      Really wanna know? I use only my own photos and I try to have them
      Relate to the text, and I had this pic on file, so I chose the dish in the drop accordingly. The tomatoes in this dish were heirlooms. My first draft had antipasto and veal scallopina along with the pappardelle. Those we’re always there. And anyway, that dish – Burrata and good tomatoes is like my favorite thing to eat, and heirlooms are usually tastier,so here’s that. 😀

Leave a Reply

