Drop #91: Habit

He was a big man dressed in khaki, his mustache yellowish from the nicotine. He had one foot up on the short brick wall, leaning an elbow on his knee. “It took me till now,” he said, without looking up.

“To do what?” I asked, trying not to concentrate on his enormous belly somehow tucked neatly behind a straining belt.

“To realize all the things I always do that I shouldn’t.” His accent snatched the words out of the gravel at his feet and then curtly ended them, like victims woken solely to be murdered.

“All of them?”

“Yes – every single one. He looked out over the dry landscape, flicking his cigarette butt out into it. “I realize them all fully now but I still do them.”

“Will you stop doing them?” I asked as he straightened up.

“I don’t know,” he coughed. “I hope so. There is still life to be lived, after all.”

By E.M. Vireo

About EM Vireo
flooding the world with fiction

3 Responses to Drop #91: Habit

  1. Wish I’d written this. Wish I could realize what this guy realized.

  2. Intense Hsiu says:

    Nice one, it took me two times to read it though. First the small details got my full attention, Second, I saw the light of the story. Nice one.

Leave a Reply

