It’s Time To Dance!

 

 

Writing is what I do – I couldn’t and wouldn’t change it – but somewhere inside, every writer wishes he or she was actually a musician: getting to watch the crowd react to a sax or guitar solo; seeing someone move to the stuff coming out of your fingers, hands or mouth; making a room bounce.

Yeah, the two can share traits but usually:

Writing is solitary, stationary, internal, calculated, endothermic, slow, labored and delayed. One cannot gauge a reaction in real-time.

Music is instant, shared, exothermic, manic, connected and active. The reaction is rapid and alive.

Dancing is like this too. It is immediate and powerful, communal and sustaining, and needless of thought or planning. While your feet might not be touching the ground, it plants you firmly in the present.

Anyway, with all that as an intro, I’d like to let you know I’m going on holiday, and part of that holiday involves a music festival where I will shut down the writer’s brain and give myself entirely to music and dance. (OK, I might make a note here and there about future Drops) As a writer, it all gets so swampy, claustrophobic and unceasing, and it helps to willfully travel to a place that thinks less and acts more, exchanging edits for spontaneity.

Anyway, The Drops will keep coming – I’ve set a handful to post while I’m gone, though I might not manage replies on comments. As is commonly written in out of office replies: ‘I will have intermittent access to email. If you have an urgent matter, please write it on a piece of paper, dip it in tempura batter, and deep fry till golden brown.’

I better stop there before I stray further into the balderdash bog encroaching on my brain.

So, keep looking for new Drops every couple of days or so, and remember: life is no categorical animal; life is a dance!

 

About EM Vireo
flooding the world with fiction

2 Responses to It’s Time To Dance!

  1. Gary Rudd says:

    Hi Ex. I am always, well invariably critical of writers who unwisely choose to write about music, in the sense of its performance. I was almost enjoying Captain Corelli’s Mandolin until he made the crass error of trying to describe Greek Sitarki music and then displayed his complete ignorance of the genre and instrumentation by including the wrong instruments and details which he showed he knew nothing about at all. One of the few writers who, for me at least, gets it right is Keruoac in ‘On the Road’. It’s a risky business and even I, as a musician, carefully research every word I ever write on the subject. Take good care my friend and enjoy the break. Great work so far. Avoid the bum notes. 😉

  2. Your plans sound like a panacea for what can become drudgery. Writing is wonderful but utterly demanding. There are times when you have to give it a rest and let your brain repair. You’ll come back with new vigor.

    Have a great break!

Leave a Reply

