Cutbacks

I’ve been posting 5 Drops a week for over three months and the time has come for change.  Not sure if you know this, but I’m not only a Drop writer, I’m a novelist and short story writer, and while Drops are cool, this type of turnover leaves me time for nothing else. I haven’t even looked at my novel in six months and she’s getting pissed with the lack of attention. You have to know how to adapt on the go, and when to make a change, so I’m cutting back (so be the times). I’m still going to flood the place with fiction, but I can’t do one a day – that’s just crazy. So I’ll do one every other day or so. Hope that’s cool with you all.

I will remain a slave to production, but I guess, you just wont have access to it all in real time.

Ever yours,

E.M. Vireo

About EM Vireo
flooding the world with fiction

9 Responses to Cutbacks

  1. KK says:

    Good good-females need attention too:)

  2. Keep it up whenever you can…enjoying the little stories:)

  3. Laura says:

    Wise move. At the end of the day, the novel deserves some attention too!

  4. I would have been amazed if you pulled it off. A truly epic idea. I’m glad you are dedicating some time to longer stories too.

    • EM Vireo says:

      Yeah, it was getting nutty. And it wasn’t optimizing a balanced kind of efficiency. Quite relieved and excited to have time for other things now.

  5. Eloise says:

    I’ve been reading about the need to pull back on several blogs. I think it’s a wise move and I’m going to do the same. I gave up the everyday thing long ago. Frankly, it’s stressful – is there something pithy to write about every day? No. And then there’s the time-sink aspect of it; you really need to give back to the community which means reading other blogs thoughtfully and leaving some feedback. I write short stories, and work on them suffers the more I blog.

    So I applaud your move. Yours is one of those that I read more than most because you do write well. I’m looking forward to the book. That’s where your energy needs to go.

    • EM Vireo says:

      You speak many truths. i have realized in these first few months that this constant production is not the most productive model, precisely for the reasons you state. it just leaves no time for involvement in other ways. And thanks for all your insights and encouragement.

Leave a Reply

