Drop #64: A Joke

‘He has a weird lineage,’ I say. ‘He looks half English half Gremlin.’

She laughs, but it’s a low energy effort, which kicks in a second late, as if she suddenly realized it was meant to amuse.

‘It’s fine,’ I add, ‘unless you give him a cuppa tea after midnight.’

A few of the guys chuckle and another girl giggles, but again, her modest reaction is nothing but polite.

‘And his girlfriend,’ I push on, coveting more, ‘has the tiniest handbag I’ve ever seen. I don’t know why she even bothers carrying it around. I swear, she couldn’t fit much more than a mint in there – and she’s always worried it’s going to get stolen! What could the thief gain? A toothpick? A hair clip? Maybe a button?’

A few more chortles and a guffaw from around the table but she gives me nothing new. She looks drained, in fact, by having to muster another reaction.

I give up. There is a band playing and I listen to them for a while. They are good and their music is happy.

Then he comes along, all smiles, handshakes and kisses. She gets one on the cheek but a hug too, which lasts a second and a half too long. He sits beside her, in-between us, and helps himself to the pitcher of beer.

‘Cool place,’ he says, nodding to himself as he looks around. ‘I like the band.’

‘They’re Dominican,’ she says.

‘Excellent. We dance the lemon merengue pie tonight!’ he says in an exaggerated Spanish accent.

She instantly explodes into full and present laughter, which goes on for 4 or 5 seconds. The contrast is immense and grotesque.

I drink my beer and walk away. What a fucking joke!

By E.M. Vireo

About EM Vireo
flooding the world with fiction

3 Responses to Drop #64: A Joke

  1. iamjimmydean says:

    good stuff. I like the word count limit. I think it builds writing character. the more one can say in a small amount of words, the more one can say!

  2. poor fellow! sense of humour is very tricky thing.

Leave a Reply

