Drop #52: A Girl

I have plenty on my plate; in fact, I’m swamped with work, but all I want to do is hang out with a girl. It’s the story of my life. It’s always a particular girl, perfectly my type, and not just anyone. I don’t do casual affairs; I fall in love, over and over again.

It’s not like my job is boring and pointless; it’s fulfilling and exhilarating, and I get the work done, but I itch to get back to her so I can shroud her elfin body in mine, kiss her neck and face and shoulders, and treat her as well as any man has ever treated a woman. Yeah, it was love at first sight.

Maybe I’ll stop by the wine store and get a bottle of Champagne; then cook her favorite dinner – linguini with clams in white wine sauce – before giving her an hour-long massage. I’ve become better, with all the practice; my hands are good listeners and have learned how to bring on the sublime. Nothing makes me happier than helping her feel bliss.

I’d love to have more time to spend on her pleasure, but work is full and momentous. I design custom furniture for home and office, and large visual installations for indoor spaces like hotel lobbies, focusing on green technology and recycled materials, and have never lost the inspiration to create. I am very busy. I did a high-end tree house for a client a few months ago and now I’m doing three more. Each project is exciting and wonderful. I get to do what few others can, or will ever get to do, and still, all the while, I am thinking of my girl. Every minute of the day, I think of her. I haven’t been able to get her out of my head all week – actually, she’s been lodged there since the moment we met. I have work to do, to plan, to finish. I am responsible for this, and that, and the other, but I can’t wait any longer, and leave. It’s love, you see, and it won’t listen to logic.

Driving home, I am warmed with anticipation, for every time I see her, it’s better than the last. I unlock the front door and there she is: my girl, my muse, my wife of sixteen years. We come together and again, I have never loved her more.

By E.M. Vireo

About EM Vireo
flooding the world with fiction

5 Responses to Drop #52: A Girl

  1. MCL says:

    What a sweet one this time! Great ending, didn’t expect it. Excellent!

  2. Laura says:

    Great ending – so unexpected! Beautiful!

Leave a Reply

