Drop #48: GFC

‘What’s the matter? You seem distracted.’

‘Oh, no.’ Glen gave his boss a reassuring glance. ‘I’m quite fine.’

‘Did you hear what I just told you?’

‘Um…yes. Three days a week instead of five. Off the payroll, and by the hour.’

‘I’m sorry it has come to this, but we’re really in a bind.’

‘I understand.’

‘There’s pressure from the higher-ups to liquidate a few positions, and I really don’t want to do that, but times are tough, hence the changes.’

‘Of course.’

‘I’m afraid that unfortunately, losing your full-time status will have other ramifications for you.’

‘Yes?’

‘Well, part-time staff is not entitled to a company covered medical.’

‘Oh, I see, and since I’m part time now, that applies to me.’

‘Yes. And I’m afraid you will also have to return the company car and cell phone. We just can’t—Glen, are you listening?’

‘What’s that?’

‘Are you paying attention? You seem awfully distracted.’

‘Oh, yes. I’m listening. No more car and what was the other thing?’

‘Cell phone. You won’t be able to make calls on the company dime anymore.’

‘Oh, yeah. I remember now.’

‘Look, Glen: I’m really sorry. I know you’ve been here almost five years and have always been a good worker, but we all know how brutal the economy is nowadays.’

‘Sure. Global Financial Crisis, and all.’

‘Exactly. I hope this will be a temporary solution and we can return you to your normal role within a few months.’

‘Yes, that would be nice.’

‘In the mean time, I wanted to discuss a new project that might net you some overtime. I know you just had a second child and that your wife isn’t working.’

‘What’s that? Oh yes. She’s a stay at home mom.’

‘That’s why this new project could come in handy. You might have to work later, but I’m sure you could use the money.’

‘True.’

‘But I’ll let you go now. We’ll talk about that tomorrow—well, Wednesday actually. This will take some getting used to, for all of us.’

‘OK, Wednesday then.’

‘Thanks Glen. I really am sorry it has come to this.’

‘Yeah. OK. Well, that’s how it goes sometimes.’

 

Glen left and closed the door behind him, relieved to be out of there. It had been difficult and uncomfortable to talk to his boss while all he’d been able think about was the tattooed platinum blonde with the shaved coochie and crotchless white stockings in the erotica book Lars had showed him over the weekend. He hadn’t managed to get the image out of his head since.

 By E.M. Vireo

About EM Vireo
flooding the world with fiction

One Response to Drop #48: GFC

  1. KK says:

    Great final twist-as always: Good luck Glen!

Leave a Reply

