Drop #37: Awful Day

I had an awful day yesterday. It just kept coming, relentlessly, forcing me well beyond exasperation. Thank God it’s over! Honestly, I don’t know if I could survive another like it.

It started in the morning, when a wrong number called me a good fifteen minutes before my alarm was to go off. I couldn’t fall asleep again, or even get into a good snooze pattern afterwards. At breakfast, the milk was almost spoiled and the cereal box almost empty, so I only got a quarter bowl of lousy cereal out of it. I also spilled half a cup of coffee over the kitchen counter. After eating, I used the bathroom as I always do, and ran out of toilet paper. I had to waddle down the hall with my pants around my ankles to get another roll.

The subway got stuck for more than four or five minutes on my way to work and my iPod had run out of juice too, so I had no music while I waited. It was drizzling when I got outside and though I’d brought an umbrella, it was half broken, so my right shoulder as well as my right calf got damp on the walk to my building.

In the office, my boss was there for a change, so I had to actually do work. I wouldn’t be able to take a long lunch or even leave early. I learned we’d just got a new client, which meant a stack of extra calls and emails over the next few weeks. It also meant I had to work closely with Derrick, the most annoying guy in the place. He never slacks off, always looking for things to get done, and expects you to contribute. As if that wasn’t enough, my shirt’s label suddenly started scratching my neck. It was really uncomfortable, but with no other one to change into, I had to suck it up.

I felt I deserved a good lunch, given the day I was having, so I went to Carmello’s for some home-made pasta, a glass of red wine, and some relaxation, but today, it was totally packed. I had to wait almost a quarter of an hour in the crowded front section for a table, and then, it was the worst one in the place: the small round one near the toilets – the one that can’t hold more than three plates. Who could enjoy lunch there? But I had no choice, and settled in. Of course, they’d run out of the house wine I always get, and poured me something unexceptional at one and third times the price. The pasta was kind of undercooked and the salad bar was out of asparagus – the only thing I really wanted from it – every time I walked over there. Needless to say, it was a very disappointing lunch, and what’s more, the server, some new woman I’d never laid eyes on, wouldn’t let me use my full stamp card, which had only expired two days earlier, to pay for it? Had she never heard of a grace period, for Christ’s sake? So I had to shell out hard cash for the positively underwhelming meal. In the bathroom, they hadn’t filled up the paper towel, so I was forced to dry my hands on my pants. I also stood in something syrupy, which had my feet sticking to the floor for the next twenty minutes, squeaking with every step.

In the evening I had to stay at work almost an hour longer than usual, so, by the time I got there, the gym was super busy and I could scarcely find a free elliptical machine; then, half way through my work out, the DVD of the TV series I’d been following started skipping at a crucial stage. After stopping my workout to clean and try it again three times I had to accept the disk was scratched and the episode unwatchable. Great! The whole series was ruined now, and needless to say, my workout too.

Afterwards, I just wanted to get some food, get home, and chill in front of the TV. They’d run out of chicken cutlet at the deli, so I had to settle for a balsamic chicken hero, but whatever, by now, after all the disappointments, it almost didn’t matter. I got back without incident but at home, the remote just stopped working for no reason. Turned out the batteries were flat. Who ever heard of the batteries in a remote running out? I had none spare, so I had to go all the way down to the corner store, the elevator stopping at four floors along the way (one with no one even waiting to get in) to buy more at their rip off price. Back upstairs, after another long, multiple stop elevator ride, shared with a mother and her two loud, misbehaved kids, and an old man with halitosis and a cane, who kept knocking a plastic bag full of hard, irregular objects against my shin, there was nothing on TV, so I went online, but the connection was miserably slow, taking almost a second to load a friggin page! When it returned to normal a minute or two later, I played a few games of Hearts while I ate, but lost like four in a row. That never happens. The balsamic chicken was awful and I ended up throwing most of it out.

Thank God, the day was almost over by now, but it wouldn’t end before both my teams lost in overtime, my mother called to say she couldn’t get me in for free at next week’s event, and the water in the bathroom stopped running before I could brush my teeth, only coming back on again when my routine was shattered, and I’d long given up on the idea of hitting the hay with minty molars.

I know many people, especially in other parts of the world, must have awful days too, but this one was surely right up there with the absolute worst. Honestly, I don’t know if I could survive another like it.

By E.M. Vireo

About EM Vireo
flooding the world with fiction

6 Responses to Drop #37: Awful Day

  1. vworld26 says:

    Some gem-like turns of phrase in here, like “my right shoulder as well as my right calf got damp on the walk to my building” and ” I’d long given up on the idea of hitting the hay with minty molars.”

  2. Francesco says:

    Your stories are coming along nicely. I didn’t much see the point of all that happened in this one and the the last paragraph wraps it up perfectly and makes you think about it.

    Very good.

    One thing that bothered me was: There was no explanation why his iPhone died. Why didn’t he charge it? Maybe the electricity went out in the middle of the night. There has to be some reason. Anyone who owns an iPhone seldom of ever, just doesn’t charge it.

    Keep it up.

  3. emvireo says:

    Glad the satire came through in the end. As for the iPhone, it was actually his iPod that ran out of juice. I have an iPod classic, and sometimes, it runs out of juice if i haven’t charged it recently. Still the owner’s fault in the end, right, and not the machines! Thanks for keeping on reading and for your insightful comments.

  4. Estar says:

    They just keep on getting better to my liking! Thanks for the “daily” literature 🙂

Leave a Reply

