Drop #12: A Bear of a Dog

He scratches the back of his neck, leans closer, and says: ‘I know this kid who knows this kid who had something to do with walking his dog, or dog sitting or something—oh, shit! You should see this fucking dog!’ He slaps her thigh.

‘You’ve seen it?’ she asks.

‘No, I mean, this kid described it to me.’

‘He saw it?’

‘No, as I said, his friend did.’

‘Of course.’

‘Some Russian breed. Big as a bear. You know how crazy the Russians are with the vodka and the mail order brides and shit. Imagine what they get up to with dog breeding! Guy said he never saw anything like it. Pitch black and furry like a bear, with a big old snout, one blue and one brown eye, tall as a man when it stands on its back legs.’

‘Sounds like quite an animal.’

‘Eats only salmon too, just like a grizzly.’

‘You sure it isn’t one?’

‘A what?’

‘A grizzly bear.’

‘It’s some Russian breed. Forget the name.’

‘Ok then,’ she says, taking a handful of cashews. ‘Good story.’

‘Yeah’

‘Well, a decent one, I’d say.’

‘Fair enough.’ He picks up a single Pringle, puts it in his mouth, and bites down on it with a crunch.

‘Oh, by the way,’ she says after swallowing. ‘I found someone I really like.’

‘Did you?’

‘Yeah, I mean, someone who blows me away, like in the movies. I have trouble breathing when I’m around him.’

‘And he likes you too?’

‘Yes.’

‘In that way?’

‘Yes.’

‘How long have you been seeing him?’

‘Only two weeks.’

‘And you’re that sure after that short?’

‘Absolutely.’

‘Wow. That’s amazing. I’m really happy for you.’

‘Thanks… so I guess I’m going to have to break up with you.’

‘Obviously.’

‘Yeah.’

‘Ok. Wow. Well, congratulations. That really is great news. You’re so lucky.’

‘I know.’

‘I guess I’ll see you around then.’

‘You don’t have to leave or anything.’

‘No, I know. I’m not leaving. It was more of a general comment.’

‘Oh. Ok,’ she says. She hears something fall and break in the other room and hopes it’s nothing she cares about.

By E.M. Vireo

About EM Vireo
flooding the world with fiction

Leave a Reply

